• Basti
    Basti, hindi for 'settlement,' is used colloquially to refer to informal settlements, most often JJCs.
  • Delhi Development Authority (DDA)
    The 1957 DDA Act established the Delhi Development Authority as Delhi’s “main land management body”; its primary mandate is to develop housing.
  • Delhi Jal Board (DJB)
    The DJB is a parastatal agency that is in charge of providing water and sewarage services in the state of Delhi.
  • Delhi Urban Shelter Improvement Board (DUSIB)
    The Delhi Urban Shelter Improvement Board (DUSIB) was established in 2010 in place of the Slum and JJ Department at the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD). Its main functions involve servicing, improving, relocating, and resettling JJCs. It is also in charge of improving katras [residential structures] in slum designated areas, night shelters, and providing services in some resettlement colonies
  • Economically Weaker Section (EWS)
    Since 2012, the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation (MHUPA) has defined 'EWS' households as those urban poor households who have an annual household incomes up to Rs. 1,00,000. Previously, in 2010, the threshold for EWS households was fixed at a monthly income of Rs. 5000 (an annual household income of Rs. 60,000). In principle, EWS households receive subsidised food grain, housing,and education.
  • Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi (GNCTD)
    The GNCTD has been the state-level government of Delhi since 1992, when Delhi moved from being a Union Territory to a state.
  • Jhuggi
    A hutment, or slum dwelling, typically made of mud and corrugated metal.
  • Jhuggi Jhopri Cluster (JJC)
    A jhuggi jhopri cluster is a non-notified “squatter settlement” in Delhi. Most are on public “lands occupied and built upon without the permission of the landowning agency”.
    The Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) was a central government mission launched in 2005. The Mission is a centrally sponsored scheme that provides funding for city modernisation contingent on compliance with certain administrative, legislative, and financial reforms. The Mission has two core sub-missions: Basic Services for the Urban Poor (BSUP) and Urban Infrastructure and Governance. The Mission ended in March 2014.
  • Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA)
    An MLA is a representative elected from an electoral constituency within a state to the state legislature.
  • Municipal Councillor (MC)
    A Municipal Councillor is a representative elected from a municipal ward to the urban local body. The MC is the most local elected representative in Delhi.
  • Rajiv Awas Yojana (RAY)
    The central government’s slum eradication scheme, overseen by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation. The Rajiv Awas Yojana will be undertaken in two phases. The first two year phase began in 2013.
  • Rehabilitation
    In the context of slum policy, rehabilitation refers to the two step process of clearing a JJC and relocating its residents to alternative accommodation.
  • Slum Designated Area
    In Delhi, a slum designated area (SDA) is a settlement identified in a piece of 1956 legislation. These ‘notified’ slums--part of a list that has not been updated since 1994--are granted administrative recognition and assured some level of basic services, as well as due process in case of eviction or demolition. SDA is one of the seven categories of unplanned settlements in the city.
  • Unauthorised Colony
    The unauthorised colony (UAC) is one of seven ‘unplanned’ settlement types designated by the Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi (GNCTD), ‘unauthorised’ because it is “built on land not included in the development area in the plan or one built on land within the developmental area but not yet zoned for residential use”.